Finding Motivation in the Dead of Winter

A few times each winter you will hear me utter the phrase, “There’s a reason why bears hibernate in the winter.” I will say this in regards to feeling tired, wanting to sleep late or an overall being of lethargy. It’s dark when you wake up and it’s dark when you return home from work. Despite all of this I love winter. I am fortunate to live in a region that gets to experience the best and the worst that all 4 seasons have to offer. There’s something about that first chill in the air and the way it feels in your lungs. It almost seems to cleanse them of any mold. It’s a time of year when the heavier blankets come out, the fireplace gets used a lot and sleeping in is key while hitting snooze becomes an Olympic sport.

This does not make for good motivation to get outside and run.

I finished my first full marathon on November 30th of 2014. I was already signed up for the Big Sur International Marathon this coming April. It seemed so far away then. It is a little over a month away. Yes, I’ve been training and I am prepared but there were a lot of bumps in the road and I’m talking figuratively. 

It got cold here in Philly, and I mean Hoth cold. We had a stretch of single digit temperatures with a wind chill of -25. I also got hit with a nasty sinus bug.  All of this happened early in the game so I’m not completely going to sabotage my training. I am still using the same coach as last year and he is amazing. I love the guy, his traing and his techniques. It’s been a major help having him here to help with a plan and to give me good advice.

I got a few chances to run with Erin but not as much as last fall. Having a partner to be accountable to certainly helps get you out there. 

I still love running but as I approach a peak in my training I am ready for the valley. This spring and summer I should have lower mileage as we will be working on speed. I’m ready for it. I’m ready for the warmer weather to kick in. I’m ready to not have to bring 18 articles of clothing to work just for my run. I’m ready to be ready!

  • The View From My Run : Winter Edition

   

  

               

   

           

One response to “Finding Motivation in the Dead of Winter

Leave a Reply

