2013 – My Year in Review

Happy New Year, everyone! 2014 is upon us. It’s that time when we both reflect on the past year’s achievements and look forward to the upcoming year. I’m sure most of you are already setting future goals and signing up for races. Looking back at my 2013 I have this nice collection of medals to show my accomplishments:

IMG_5012Not pictured is a 5K run I did on my 40th birthday in February, and a 6.5 mile trail race in September.

I am extremely happy with the 470 plus miles that I ran in 2013. I celebrated my 40th birthday by running a 5K. I was fortunate enough to have been chosen to run the Broad Street Run, my first ever. I set a goal of training for, and completing 2 half marathons, a 10K and my first trail run of 6.55 miles. I trained smarter this year. I started doing speed drills and easy runs and long runs and tempo runs as opposed to just running blindly. I stopped taking my heartburn medication by eating a more alkaline diet. Most importantly, I listened to my body. When I was good to my body it rewarded me with great health, energy and weight loss.

I would easily say that the Broad Street Run was my favorite and most successful race. My tempo was killer. It was so good that I never got it back after that! Maybe I over trained? I did not meet my goal for my 2nd Oktoberfest Half but I did PR in Florida during the Space Coast Marathon (I ran the half marathon for this). The winter leading up to 2013 I read many books on running. Some of them were on training tips, others were about ultra runners and their stories. I never hated running this year, even in 90 degree weather. I also influenced a lot of friends and co-workers to lace up and go out for a run, one of them even quit smoking!

After December 1st I stopped running for a few weeks to let my body recover. I had run non-stop for almost 30 weeks so it was time to rest. I still worked out but barely did any running and enjoyed life. OK, by “enjoyed life” I mean, enjoyed some tasty craft beers! I didn’t miss it for the first 2 weeks. It was the holiday season so my time was occupied, anyway. On New Year’s Eve I went out for my first run in a while. It was frigid out. I went for 3 miles and felt great. I ran easy so I wasn’t worried about pace. I started to pick up the pace for the last .5 miles and still felt great. I could tell my heart was racing but it felt good to be back in the game. It was a nice run from my place, to the Art Museum and back.

My next race is on March 31st. It’s the Philly Love Run. My training begins January 6th and I am ready to get back into it. I have a feeling I’ll be training during the coldest months but I am ready! I’m keeping my fingers crossed to get into Broad Street again, and will do my 2 half marathons at the end of the year. I’m excited to see what challenges I’ll face in my running. I’m excited to see how I advance, but most importantly, I am thrilled to get back to running this year. Cheers, everyone, and have a great 2014! I’ll be reading your posts so keep them coming! In the meantime, here’s the view from my last run of 2013:

 

 

One response to “2013 – My Year in Review

  1. This year you learned a lot about what works for you, Matt. I’m happy to be able to cheer you on as you accomplish more and more. Watch out 2014 — Matt Spade is ready to rock!

Leave a Reply

