The Morning Runs

I have finally gotten myself in the pattern of waking up earlier to run! (choir sings Hallelujah) I LOVE IT! I am certainly not a morning person but try telling that to my wife as of this past week! So far, 3 days of waking up an hour plus earlier and hitting the pavements for some mileage. I might have to thank my cat for that one. He likes to meow non-stop anywhere from 4 am to 6 am. It was Tuesday morning and his meowing got me up. It was quarter of 7 and time to feed the little guy. Morgan and I upgraded our computer so I went in the spare room, sat down at the computer and had the epiphany to suit up my running clothes and go run. Why not? I’m not due in work until 9 am. If I left now I’d be back in time to shower, make breakfast and go to work. Luckily it only takes me 10 minutes to get to work on my bike. I decided it would be a tempo run and I covered 2 plus miles. I know it’s only 2 miles but I’ll take it! I was back in time to shower, make breakfast and be to work on time. I was all jazzed up and I hadn’t even had any coffee!

Wednesday was a planned run with Katrina and Jess. We met at Washington Square Park around 8 am and did a slow / easy run for 3 miles. We did our usual Penn’s Landing run. It was the first day where the weather was beginning to get humid again. The water along the Delaware River was like a sheet of glass, perfectly still. I’m not sure what happened to me on this run but I was struggling. I’m sure some of it was the heat and humidity, and some of it was me going out of the gate too strong at the start. But I must remind myself that a slow / easy run is supposed to be a 1 – 2 minute slower pace than normal. I was very proud of Jess on this run. She was leading the pack and stayed with her sister the whole time. I love running in the city, especially Philadelphia, but the down side to that are these red lights. The girls were a good  half block in front of me when their green light became my red light. Maybe I needed to stop for a quick minute.

Thursday we planned to meet at 7 am for some speed drills. Katrina informed me that she picked up a shift at Lithe and would not be able to meet for our run. I was a bit relieved only because of the whole getting up at 6 to meet someone at 7. I still set my alarm for 6:30 and 7:15. I also set my mental alarm to say “YOU WILL RUN FARTLEKS TOMORROW MORNING!” While I took advantage of an extra hour sleep it was 7 am when I was getting dressed and geared up for this run. I was out the door by 7:15. It was tough doing this. The weather was cloudy and it looked like any minute the sky would open up. My street, which can be a busy one, was dead. I set my iPhone music playlist to RUSH and I was out and running. A .4 mile warm up and then began the Fartleks. This si where city running with its traffic lights works. If I saw a light had 12 seconds to change I would book it to make the light. I ran a total of 2 miles speed drill with a .4 warm up and a .4 cool down. Once again I was home in time to shower, make breakfast and watch the local morning show.

Friday is a rest day from running. I have an intense kettle bell class at noon but my legs will thank me for the day off. Saturday I’ll do an easy 3, maybe throw in a bike ride and Sunday we have a scheduled long run of 7 miles. An EASY 7! For now I am hooked on these morning runs. I love the energy it gives me. I love how it carries me through the rest of the day. I love that I can fall asleep easily at night. I thought running was my new addiction but morning running is an even greater addiction! Once again, I’ll take it. There are far too many worst addictions one can have. Cheers, everyone! Enjoy your weekend and enjoy the views from theses runs!

Tuesday, Tempo Run

Wednesday, Slow / Easy Run : Penn’s Landing

Thursday, Fartleks

2 responses to “The Morning Runs

  1. Pingback: My Week in Exercise | Elliptical Bunnies Not Allowed·

Leave a Reply

