The “Gorges” View From This Afternoon’s Run

My wife and I are vacationing in Ithaca

And yes, it is gorges! We have friends who live there so we spent the first night with them. We started off with a tour if Ithaca Beer Co. I really like their beer. They had a smoked porter on tap and their Flower Power IPA. Ingot a few porters and hop flight and was set for the night.

Long before we arrived I had asked our hosts about running. They were kind enough to send a map of a 3 mile course that they often use. After breakfast and a walk to the farmer’s market my wife and her friend went to get a mani/pedi. This was my opportunity to go for a run. On Friday I bought some awesome new running sneakers and this was going to be their first run.

It was a 3.2 mile course path that takes you through parts of downtown, past a gigantic waterfall, around an elementary school and back to their place. I started off slow and was not going for any type of speed on this run. It was a new course and I wanted to take in the scenery. The first mile took me to a bridge where my friend said to take the time to go down the oath, stop and see the falls. I’m so glad I did. It was amazing. I have no words to describe how I felt seeing this. I took it all in, took a few pictures and got on my way.

Before long I was at the elementary school, about to loop back home on the other side of town. My GPS said 2.7 miles. I was not tired from the run and I had more in me. Also, my Strava app has a challenge for today to run a 10k. This would be my new goal. I since I was familiar with the path so far I turned around and ran back the way I came.I ended up running a few extra blocks to get the .2 in 6.2, but I did it. My pace averaged an 11:15 but, So what. There’s always room for a run on vacation. We decided to enjoy ourselves with beer and food but I will also keep up with my running.

Leave a Reply

