The View From This Afternoon’s Run – Long Run – 4/28/13

Long Run – 8 miles – Art Museum Path

Someone once said that when you are training and you have an off run to remember that’s what training is for. It’s alright to struggle during a training run. Today’s long run was one of those. I did run 5 miles the day before at a steady / tempo pace. I also was kept awake by some drunken bafoons outside who were carrying on until 3 am. Add a cat that likes to walk on your face at 5am and you have a recipe for a disastrous run. All in all I shouldn’t complain. My body is thanking me for doing the run and I feel it’s good luck to have your last long run before a big race be a bit of a struggle. I’ll be tapering this week and will get another 2 runs in before Broad Street on Sunday. I know that going in with strong, new legs will help me to conquer.

My overall pace was a 10:52

  • SPLITS:
  • Mile 1 – 11:06
  • Mile 2 – 10:20
  • Mile 3 – 10:52
  • Mile 4 – 12:13 (had to stop for a minute and slow walk it)
  • Mile 5 – 12:09
  • Mile 6 – 13:02 (a few stops to maneuver through traffic and red lights)
  • Mile 7 – 11:02

Clearly after Mile 4 I was struggling. That fact that I had to stop and do the run/walk method affected my time. Tomorrow I will rest and recover. For now I will hydrate, eat and stretch!

Leave a Reply

