The View From This Afternoon’s Run – Easy Run

04/27/13 Easy Run with a slower than usual pace – Art Museum

It was a day that was practically meant for running. The sun was out, the humidity was zero and the temperature was a perfect 66 degrees! It was a Spring cleaning kind of day and so that’s what Morgan and I did. Today’s plan was to do an “easy run” of 3-5 miles. An easy run is done at a pace that is 1-2 minutes slower than your normal pace. I always have a hard time going slow at first. I have to keep reminding myself that it needs to feel slow.

The run from my apartment to the base of the Art Museum is 1.2 miles. I love the 8 mile loop because it’s a relatively flat path with no stops. One of the problems I have with city running is the constant red lights. Even when the light is green you have to pay attention. So many cars don’t stop behind the cross walk. They look the other way for cars and go through the light. Found myself banging a hood once to grab someone’s attention. There’s always the “hands and shoulders in the air /WTF face” that I give drivers when they don’t stop when they’re supposed to.

It was a gorgeous day, once again, to get and run. I felt pleased overall with my performance. After all, tomorrow is my last long run before the Broad Street Run 10 Miler! Going to shoot for 8-9 miles at Long Run pace.

My Splits:

  • Mile 1 – 10:39
  • Mile 2 – 11:43
  • Mile 3 – 11:05
  • Mile 4 -12:00  (there’s a lot of traffic stops getting out of the Art Museum)

In the meantime, here’s some pictures I took along the way to and from and on the path:

Leave a Reply

