Run for Boston

In the wake of the recent tragedy at the 2013 Boston Marathon, thousands of Philadelphians stood, or rather, ran in solidarity to show support for their fellow runners, Americans and Bostonians. This event has effected everyone but, more so, runners. Racing is a safe haven. You have a massive crowd of people who volunteer, a massive crowd of people cheering you on, and a massive crowd of runners.

I was thrilled when I heard that various running groups were going to meet at City Hall and run down Market Street to the Liberty Bell. The city even shut down the streets for us. The run itself was barely a mile but it is one I will never forget. I ran from my apartment to our particular meet up; PAWS. There, I met with Katrina, my running partner. We ran from PAWS to City Hall and met our friend Lilah. The place was packed! You could feel the energy in the air.

The scene on Market Street

The scene on Market Street

A speech was given but unless you were within ten feet of the guy with the megaphone you heard nothing. It wasn’t before long we were out the gate and running down Market Street. I was starting to get a bit chocked up. All of these people came for one reason: to show support; to let the bad guys know nothing will stop us from running. The crowd was amazing. We finished at the Liberty Bell. I spotted a few runners with this year’s Boston Marathon shirts on. Red Sox and Boston apparel was in full swing.

Philly show solidarity for Boston with 3000 runners.

Philly show solidarity for Boston with 3000 runners.

I spotted a man with an American flag and asked if I could take his picture.He not    only let me but handed me the flag and took my phone to take mine. I am always proud to be an American but I was more so on that night.

Leave a Reply

